Preview: What you need to know about stage 20 of the 2022 Giro d’Italia

Preview: What you need to know about stage 20 of the 2022 Giro d’Italia


Date: Saturday May 28
Start: Belluno
Finish: Marmolada
Distance: 168 km

The third and final five-star stage in this year’s Giro has roughly 4,500 m of climbing in store. As described in the Garibaldi, this is “a colossal stage through the Dolomites and the last summit finish of the 2022 Giro d’Italia.”

The stage is defined by three, back-to-back climbs that start with more than 100 km still to race. The Passo di San Pellegrino (18.5 km at 6.2%, after 30 km of gradual climbing in the lead-up) the Passo Pordoi (11.8 km at 6.8%) – the highest point on this year’s Giro route – and finally the Passo Fedaia (14 km at 7.6%) This final climb takes the riders right to the finish line, with the final 5.5 km of the ascent averaging more than 11%.

In short, this is a very tough final stage in the mountains and the last opportunity for the climbers to make any progress against their rivals.

Who’s it for: The GC men.

CyclingTips’ picks: This is the last chance for breakaway specialists who can climb, riders like Bauke Mollema and Lennard Kamna, as well as the last shot for both Richard Carapaz and Jai Hindley to take time ahead of the TT. Hindley needs some seconds. There are bonus seconds at the finish, so it’s possible (likely even) that Bora-Hansgrohe will try to hold things together to make sure Hindley has a shot at taking them.

When to start watching: Here’s when the riders are expected to start the day’s three main climbs:

  • Passo San Pellegrino: 1:50 pm local time (4:50 am PDT / 7:50 am EDT / 9:50 pm AEST)
  • Passo Pordoi: 3:15 pm (6:15 am PDT / 9:15 am EDT / 11:15 pm AEST)
  • Passo Fedaia: 4:15 pm (7:15 am PDT / 10:15 am EDT / 12:15 am AEST)



Source link